DAY 1 – What drives me?

If  you’re a mom, you already know the answer to this question. If you’re a mom, you already know that having a child changes you in ways you could’ve never foreseen. You hold that baby in your arms and you know you would sacrifice anything for them…. and then you do. You sacrifice sleep, you sacrifice time, you sacrifice fun, you sacrifice goals. You sacrifice pieces of yourself you didn’t even know you had, and then you don’t even care because it’s for your child and they are the light of your life. And then that child gets sick. That sweet, innocent, perfect little cherub-faced boy wakes up one day and can’t walk. His knees are now puffier than his baby cheeks and he looks at you with eyes full of confusion and questions. That was my reality a year and a half ago. That was the reality that pushed me to become a Health Activist. That moment is what drives me. That moment is what makes me strive for a future where cures exist and chronic illnesses don’t rule the population. I want my son to know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I did everything in my power as his mom AND as a healthcare professional to advocate for him and this disease. I want to educate the world about Juvenile Arthritis and why it is a condition that needs our distinct and undivided attention. My years as a nurse taught me how to treat the signs and symptoms, my years as a mom are teaching me how to treat the person.

Leave a Reply

