DAY 4 – A Letter


Today’s prompt says to write a letter to yourself for the day you were diagnosed, but this letter is for my son, since he is the one fighting the battle…

Dear Ryker,

I’m sorry baby. I’m sorry you have been in constant pain and mommy didn’t see it earlier. I’m sorry I didn’t trust my instincts and advocate for you harder. I’m sorry you were diagnosed with a disease you will have to struggle with all of your days. No you will not grow out of it and yes you will have to take medicine every day. Please know that you might not always be able to keep up with your friends but you are still God’s perfect creation. Know that daddy and I love you more than we could ever say and we are going to do everything in our power to make sure your childhood is as fun and exciting as everyone else’s. You have inflammation in literally every joint in your body but it won’t stop you. You will still try to run and jump and get dirty. You will still pretend you’re a driver at Monster Jam and do some amazing Lightning McQueen impersonations. You will still ask everyone you know if they want to race and spoiler alert: you always win. You will need two shots a week to keep your disease under control, but don’t worry, you get a Paw Patrol bandaid each time. Most of all, just know that you will always see the best doctors and have access to the best treatments, because I am your mommy, and I’m not going to have it any other way. 

I love you. 

One thought on “DAY 4 – A Letter

Leave a Reply

