DAY 7 – Starting the Journey


The truth is, I started my advocacy journey the day I became a mom. The day Ryker was diagnosed, I took that advocacy journey to a whole new level. I remember getting home from the rheumatologist and jumping on the computer. I reached out to the Arthritis Foundation and ordered three books off of Amazon. I used my healthcare background to sign in to every medical journal and scientific research library I could. I read pamphlets on methotrexate and all of the biologics. I joined a million Facebook groups. I truly believe that knowledge is power, and you can’t effectively advocate for someone if you don’t know all the facts and figures. It was pretty easy for me to decide to do this blog because there are so many parts of our every day lives that people don’t see. I hope these posts allow our friends, family, and acquaintances to see the difficult areas of our life that we try to mask for the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

